26
May
15

Fire in the Sky

Fire in the Sky

Deep Purple – Smoke on the Water (video / lyrics)

This was a picture somewhat planned in advance. I have a confession to make – although my geographical knowledge of Europe isn’t bad I had no idea that Montreux is in Switzerland. Of course I knew “Smoke on the Water”, but I never made the connection, maybe because Lake Geneva is called Genfersee in German. This became a running gag during our stay in Évian (yes, that’s where the water comes from). Years ago the Dearest found it hilarious that I hazarded a vague guess and thought Montreux might be in Canada… probably because Frank Zappa was American. And if you don’t know what Frank Zappa has to do with Deep Purple’s Smoke on the Water click the link.

This song would never have been my Deep Purple choice for the project if it hadn’t been for the vacation. I’d probably have done Hush!, Child in Time or my all time favourite Perfect Strangers. But going to Lake Geneva made me do it. Still might do something with one of the other songs… 😉

Picture Your Song

Picture Your Song

You can find the links to the other participants for May here.

May 2015, Lake Geneva, seen from Évian-les-Bains

2 Responses to “Fire in the Sky”


  1. 1 Raven
    26. May 2015 at 12:14

    Wow, was für eine Weite! Tolles Bild und toller Song. 😀

  2. 26. May 2015 at 13:23

    Yep, toller Song. Imo nur zu viel gedudelt – als wenn es nichts anderes von Deep Purple gäbe… *seufz*


Leave a Reply

Categories

Tempus fugit

May 2015
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Project Noah

Project Noah

www.projectnoah.org

My Project Noah

My Project Noah

User Profile


