19
Apr
17

Journaling Part 1b – Watercolour Sketches

I started painting with watercolours 3 years ago, but was very self-concious about sketching on location. Most stuff got done after the fact, using my own photos as references (which I still do, if I like a photo). For examples see this and this blogpost. The first time I was brave enough to paint on location was in Antwerpes.



I have found the perfect watercolour sketch book for me last year in Trier: it’s the Hahnemühle Watercolour Book in A6 landscape format. I like the size (10×15 cm, perfect for jacket pockets) and I like the paper (natural white 200g/m²).
Before that I used the Moleskine Watercolour Album in the large size (13×21 cm) and the Strathmore Softcover Watercolor Journal (14×20 cm), both with 200g/m² paper, they are nice and something I still use at home. The downside to these sketchbooks? They don’t fit in any of my jacket pockets, I have to take a backpack. And the Strathmore cover is too floppy for my liking.

As for the paints, I started with the Sketcher’s Pocket Box by Winsor & Newton, adapted it with a couple of open stock half-pans of Cotman Watercolours and use it together with a 0.7 mechanical pencil and the Pentel Aquash brushes. I also have the Sennelier Aqua-Mini box, love the colours (I even bought a bigger set with 18 colours last November), hate the missing mixing areas.
For our upcoming Iceland trip I’m thinking about taking a new set of Schmincke colours, I bought them open stock with the idea of setting up a split primary palette.

Split Primary Palette
The upper row shows the colours for the split primary palette (Cad Yellow Lemon, Magenta and Phthalo Blue for the cool colours and Cad Yellow Medium, Cad Red Light and French Ultramarine for the warm colours), the lower row shows colours for mixing (Phthalo Gree, Neutral Tint and Hematite).

In addition i might also bring my bigger Sennelier set for painting in the evenings.

Watercolours for Traveling
Click for a bigger photo.

In addition to pan watercolours I also use watercolour pencils, sometimes it is just  sensible to bring a dry medium. A lot of museums for example wont allow the use of wet media. I also find it difficult to paint with watercolours in very windy conditions, the colours dry too fast.
I have the 36-pencil-set of Albrecht Dürer Watercolour Pencils by Faber-Castell with the additon of some greens and blues I bought open-stock.


L'Aber Wrac'h 2016

Click for a bigger photo.

For ink outlines I use Staedtler Pigment Liners. I have the set with 6 liners plus a 1.2mm bought open-stock.

I am still a bit self-concious about the whole thing and tend to paint either early in the morning (fewer folks around) or sitting where I can’t be easily seen. But I’m getting better. Anyway, I’m not at home, so nobody knows me, right?

The trip to Iceland will be a group tour, we’ll see how that goes…

0 Responses to “Journaling Part 1b – Watercolour Sketches”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories

Tempus fugit

April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Project Noah

Project Noah

www.projectnoah.org

My Project Noah

My Project Noah

User Profile


